Uterine Cancer

Uterine Cancer treatment in Mysore

Uterine cancer means cancer in the uterus. There are two types of Uterine cancer. One is endometrial cancer, and another is uterine sarcoma. Endometrial cancer is cancer in the endometrium, the inner lining of the uterus, and it affects the whole reproductive system. When the cancer is present in the myometrium is known as uterine sarcoma. The treatment of uterine cancer can be carried out with the help of the removal of the uterus through a hysterectomy.


When the doctor notices any signs of Uterine cancer after the physical and pelvic examination, he may recommend you undergo the following tests:

  • Blood test

The doctor recommends a blood test to measure CA-125. A specific amount of CA-125 indicates the presence of cancer in the body.

  • Imaging Test

Imaging tests include CT Scans, MRI Scans, ultrasounds, etc. CT Scans help to examine the inside of the body by taking a series of pictures. MRI Scans create an image by using radio waves and a powerful magnet. Transvaginal ultrasound is conducted by inserting a special probe into the vagina to take pictures.

  • Endometrial Biopsy

A thin and flexible tube is inserted through your cervix and uterus to conduct this test. The doctor will remove a small amount of endometrium with the help of the tube.

  • Hysteroscopy

A long thin tube known as a hysteroscope is inserted through the vagina and cervix to reach the uterus. This instrument is accompanied by a light and camera, which provides images of the uterus.

  • Dilation and Curettage (D&C)

It is a more complex procedure. The doctor removes tissue samples and sends them to the lab. The pathologist examines the sample to determine whether there is cancer or not.

By following the diagnosis process, the healthcare provider tries to determine the types of endometrial cancers. Type 1 is a less aggressive cancer that does not spread to other tissue. But, type 2 is more aggressive, and there is the probability that it may spread quickly outside of the uterus. Book an appointment to have the best treatment.

The doctor will also determine the stage of cancer based on the severity of cancer. There are four stages of Uterine Cancer:

  • Stage I means that cancer has not spread beyond your uterus.

  • Stage II means cancer has spread to the cervix.

  • Stage III is when cancer spreads to the vagina.

  • Stage IV is when cancer spreads to other organs.

Treatment Procedure

After determining the cancer stage, the doctor decides the treatment procedure. The treatment also depends on the overall health of the patients. Usually, Uterine cancer is treated with the help of the following procedures:

  • Chemotherapy

With the help of a drug, the cancer cells are destroyed or killed.

  • Radio Therapy

Cancer cells are destroyed with the help of radiation beans.

  • Hormone Therapy

Hormone therapy helps to treat cancer by blocking the hormone.

  • Immunotherapy

Immunotherapy helps the immune system to fight against cancer.

  • Treatment through Surgery

Surgery is the primary treatment for endometrial cancer. This surgical procedure is known as a hysterectomy. The procedure is as follows:

  • Total abdominal hysterectomy

The surgeon removes the uterus by making an incision in your abdomen.

  • Radical hysterectomy

A radical hysterectomy is applied when cancer spreads to the cervix. With the help of this procedure, the surgeon removes the top part of the vagina. 

  • Minimally Invasive Hysterectomy

The surgeon removes the uterus by making multiple small incisions. The procedure may be carried out robotically.

  • Vaginal Hysterectomy

With the help of this procedure, the surgeon removes the uterus through the vagina. Visit our cancer care hospital in Mysore for the best treatment.

While carrying out the hysterectomy, the surgeon may perform other procedures, including Bilateral salpingo-oophorectomy and Lymph node dissection

Call Us